The Importance of Honoring

It is very important to know how to honour: others and yourself. But the question is: “In What Order?” And our parents and teachers taught us that we should honour others, firstly. But that is wrong! The first duty to honour somebody comes in the form of honoring our own beings! That is imperative! It all starts from within, and then it is expanded into the exterior – love, respect, and appreciation. When you begin with yourself, then you have a strong foundation for constructing your respect for others.
 
I had to learn the hard way that love should start with self-love. And this does not represent an obsession, or selfishness, but an acknowledgment of my own soul and my own needs. Only by loving myself, I can love others in a balanced way. And only by loving others, I can stay healthy in my self-love. So this mutual aspect is the key to stability and development. In loving yourself – you are truly manifesting unconditional love, because you are the same in relation to all beings. And in loving others – you escape the craziness of narcissism.
 
For me, the lesson was to honour my own being, to put me first-place, and that was the way of balancing my own being, and of reaching wholeness. What about you? What was your lesson?
Leave a Reply

